The Different Types Of Vegetarian

0

To this day there are still many different interpretations of a ‘vegetarian’, in fact there are a quite few variations, below are some of the most common types.

Different types of Vegetarian

 

 

Lacto-ovo Vegetarian
Will not eat meat, fish, or poultry but does eat dairy and eggs.

Lacto Vegetarian
Does not eat meat, fish, poultry and eggs, but can eat dairy products.

Ovo-Vegetarian
Does not eat meat, fish, poultry or dairy, but does eat eggs.

Pescetarian
Does not eat red meat or poultry, but does eat dairy, eggs and fish.

Vegan
Does not eat any animal products which includes meat, fish, poultry, eggs, dairy and honey.

If you’re keen to try a vegetarian diet don’t feel you need to follow the above and change everything overnight. It’s always a good idea to understand what changing your diet will mean and the types of foods available to you. Vitamin and mineral intake are key and vitamins such as B12 or Iron are common deficiencies for new vegetarians.

Most individuals who are full vegans in most cases would have started out in the first instance as a Lacto-ovo or Ovo vegetarian and made the transition slowly. This is always a good idea so your body can make the adjustments.

‘Meat Free Mondays’ and other initiatives like it are now becoming more common within vegetarianism and its growing popularity has meant making the transition easier with restaurants and outlets starting to take the diet more seriously.

Share.

Leave A Reply